Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Request for Help - The Freezer Paper Novice (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/request-help-freezer-paper-novice-t21878.html)

earthwalker 06-25-2009 11:47 PM

Hello everyone, I am seeking your advice please. I am contributing to a quilt project and have been sent my "square" which has been marked up with margins and beautifully "serged" to prevent unravelling. It has also been backed with freezer paper.

As I am a total novice to the "freezer paper phenomenon", do I gently peel it off, do my applique and embroidery and then reapply it? Or is the idea to leave it attached and stitch through it?

Sorry if this is a silly question. I am a bit of a traditionalist and learned to quilt using the English paper-piecing method and doing loads of handwork. The only thing I know about freezer paper is that it seems very useful but found primarily in America. Despite being a bit of a techno junkie, I have only just started quilting using my trusty old Singer and I am yet to abandon my trad. paper foundations and thimbles.

Thank you

patricej 06-25-2009 11:53 PM

if you're going to do machine applique or machine embroidery, you'll find that the freezer paper backing makes a great stabilizer, so leave it on and stitch through it.

if you're going to embroider or applique by hand, you'll need to remove it.

LindaR 06-26-2009 06:01 AM

I usually back with F.P. if I am machine appliquing. It really help keep it smooth. If they require hand applique then it will definately need to come off

amma 06-26-2009 07:21 AM

I will have to try this method with machine applique and embroidery....never heard of using freezer paper this way 8) 8) 8)

RedGarnet222 06-26-2009 09:59 AM

Me either amma .... I have always used stablizers. Interesting medium to use for that though. Huh.....

tslowery 06-26-2009 10:04 AM

Originally Posted by LindaR