Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Sashing advice (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/sashing-advice-t307882.html)

staceybard 11-07-2019 02:21 PM

Sashing advice

I need some sashing advice. I am new to sashing. I have a quilt top consisting of 25 blocks which are each 17.5" square. It is very loud so I am wanting to use white sashing to separate the blocks. From what I've read, it might be easier to just sash each block individually to avoid it getting out of whack. Any advice on how to sash each block individually? I'm thinking 2.5-3" sashing. I really want to avoid cornerstones as well.

Peckish 11-07-2019 02:29 PM

That's how I would do it, and that's how I've done it in the past. For a total of 3" wide sashing, use strips cut at 2". They will finish at 1.5 each side of the block, which will give you 3".

Another thought - with white or light-colored fabrics, the seam lines will be more visible. If you want to disguise this, use a white-on-white or some other kind of print.

Rhonda K 11-07-2019 03:14 PM

A tutorial that may help with the step-by step process.

http://www.synthcom.com/~val/Quilts/...ngSashing.html

staceybard 11-07-2019 03:31 PM

Originally Posted by Peckish (Post 8324172)
That's how I would do it, and that's how I've done it in the past. For a total of 3" wide sashing, use strips cut at 2". They will finish at 1.5 each side of the block, which will give you 3".

Another thought - with white or light-colored fabrics, the seam lines will be more visible. If you want to disguise this, use a white-on-white or some other kind of print.

Thank u! What order do you do the sashing ? Like right then bottom of block?

Iceblossom 11-07-2019 04:19 PM