Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Separating at the seams (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/separating-seams-t286170.html)

jkdanf 02-17-2017 07:46 AM

Separating at the seams

Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to the quilting scene. I've made a few queen sized quilts for friends/family and after a little use and a wash or two they all seem to be getting tiny separations at some of the seams. I always make sure to pre-shrink my fabric before starting to sew and try to be as careful as possible with the seam allowance (usually I do 1/4 inch).

Does anyone have any other tips for avoiding these separations? Or is it just natural wear and tear?

Thanks!

Geri B 02-17-2017 08:24 AM

Stitch length- 2 or 1.8, be consistent with that 1/4" seam allowance. I personally think that if the quilting is too sparse, it causes stress on those 1/4" seams, so as I was instructed, a long time ago, no more than a fist of open space between quilting lines.....Recommend washing on gentle cycle and also delicate dry.....how often are these quilts washed? Just my personal thoughts on this subject.

MadQuilter 02-17-2017 08:39 AM

Do you check the seams after you sew the blocks? I make sure to check them all to make sure nothing slipped. Every once in a while part of a seam will be less than 1/8 and I will rip and resew.

How did you quilt it? STID is a good way to secure the seams and while it is a bit tedious, it does help with opening seams.

PaperPrincess 02-17-2017 08:57 AM