Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Sewing Binding On Quilts Without Getting Puckers (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/sewing-binding-quilts-without-getting-puckers-t265438.html)

sinceresissy 05-21-2015 04:52 AM

Sewing Binding On Quilts Without Getting Puckers

I have been quilting for several years and I didn't have this problem in the early days but now I keep getting puckers in the quilt edge when I sew the binding on. I have always just laid the binding on the right side of the quilt and sewed it on with 1/4 seam. Lately I have taken to ironing the edge of the quilt to flatten it down and I thought that helped but with this last quilt I still had two little puckers. I hand quilt and I thought it might be because I was quilting all the way to the edge so on the last two quilts I left an 1-1/2" inch area with not stitches. I am so lazy I don't want to stay stitch but I will if it will help. I don't know if starching the edge would help either. I am alway excited to finish up and maybe I am rushing too much. Any suggestions?

Geri B 05-21-2015 05:15 AM

First thought.....are you using a walking foot? Is your top tension maybe too right? When I use my walking foot I lower the top tension--- recommendation of mfgr.........that's all I can think of now

cindi 05-21-2015 05:35 AM

I agree with the walking foot, for sure. You can try putting the binding on the opposite way - if you're getting puckers with the binding on top when you sew, try applying with the binding on the bottom instead. Are you measuring your top when doing the binding? If your binding is too long for the top it will pucker as you try to work it in. I never trust the pattern for the measurements. If my final product is even a little off, it can affect the binding length. I always measure the quilt for my binding length.

Lori S 05-21-2015 06:35 AM