Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Sewing question (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/sewing-question-t170571.html)

Cdrlinda 12-01-2011 02:14 PM

Sewing question

I am relatively new to sewing. I am covering some pillow forms for my son's sofa. The forms are 18 inches square. How big should I cut the fabric to allow for the poof of the pillow? Is it ok to use 1/4 inch seams? Thanks in advance!

Thumbelina 12-01-2011 02:38 PM

If the pillow is 18" square, I would cut it 19", and use at least a 1/2" seam allowance if not 5/8". Good luck, hope this was some help to you.

MissQuilter 12-01-2011 02:41 PM

Originally Posted by Cdrlinda (Post 4740700)
I am relatively new to sewing. I am covering some pillow forms for my son's sofa. The forms are 18 inches square. How big should I cut the fabric to allow for the poof of the pillow? Is it ok to use 1/4 inch seams? Thanks in advance!

I think for a cushion, I might use a slightly larger seam as in regular garment sewing. That would be a 5/8 inch seam. I might start out by cutting the square out an inch or so bigger than the cushion, but you might have to adjust a bit when you see how it fits. You can always baste with a larger stitch, then try it, and sew again with a regular stitch. If you want it to be removable, you can either put a zipper in the back or you can make an envelope back so the cushion cover will slip off for washing. You should be able to find instructions for that on the internet if you search for maybe envelope back for pillow or something. Good luck!

eparys 12-01-2011 02:41 PM

Actually - if the pillow is 18", I would make the covers just a bit smaller so that the pillow fills the cover completely and yes I use 1/4" seams.

ghostrider 12-01-2011 03:05 PM