Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Should I press my binding? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/should-i-press-my-binding-t29064.html)

diogirl 11-21-2009 06:25 AM

I'm going to do bindind where I sew edges on theback of the quilt and then fold over to the front and stitch the fold edge down. Not sure what that method is called...Do I need to press that binding first giving it a sharp edge or leave the edge a little full or puffy looking? Thanks
:)

Lostn51 11-21-2009 07:18 AM

I might be wrong here because I am still a newbie but I always press the binding with lots of starch. Then I sew the raw edge to the front side of the quilt and then fold over to the back and sew.

I am sure you and I both will get some great tips on this thread so I glad you asked it!!

Billy

patty48 11-21-2009 07:22 AM

Originally Posted by Lostn51
I might be wrong here because I am still a newbie but I always press the binding with lots of starch. Then I sew the raw edge to the front side of the quilt and then fold over to the back and sew.

I am sure you and I both will get some great tips on this thread so I glad you asked it!!

Billy

This is the way I do it also. In fact I'm binding a tube table runner right now.

diogirl 11-21-2009 07:25 AM

hmmm I didn't think about sewing the raw edges to the front and folding over to the back... does that make it look better in the front? thanks.

Lostn51 11-21-2009 07:26 AM

I bound 2 quilts yesterday and will have 2 more (a king and queen size) in the next week after quilting them.

So lets just say I am going to be getting a little practice to say the least!!!!

Billy

Pam B 11-21-2009 07:28 AM