Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Should I rip it out???? Please advise!! (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/should-i-rip-out-please-advise-t249140.html)

lpepperl 06-27-2014 10:54 AM

Should I rip it out???? Please advise!!

I am brand new to quilting and have only completed 3 baby quilts. Today, I began to FMQ a lap quilt that I am making for my husband's birthday. I noticed a spot where some of my piecing was coming apart so I stopped and repaired the spot. While repairing it, my thread broke three times. I walked over to my machine and pulled some of the thread from the bobbin. It broke quite easily. This is a brand new large spool of sulky embroidery thread and I am 3/4 of the way finished quilting this quilt. I am furious!!!! Should I rip out everything I've quilted so far or should I risk that the thread will hold. The thought of ripping 3/4 of a quilt out makes me want a stiff drink!! My husbands birthday is in two weeks and I so wanted to be finished on time. Also, can you tell me what kind of thread I should use to avoid this situation in the future?? Please advise!! Thanks, Lynn:(

Tartan 06-27-2014 11:01 AM

I would finish quilting it with the thread you are using. Embroidery thread is really not recommended for machine quilting because it is fragile. I would then go back in and do a grid pattern in quilting thread or invisible thread to further stabilize the quilt if possible.

bearisgray 06-27-2014 11:12 AM

I second that embroidery thread - while pretty - is not as strong as 'regular' thread.

If the overall quilting is okay - just quilt more densely - and I think it will be all right.

With a more fragile thread - I think if the quilting lines are close together - it will hold - at least, it will hold better than if the lines are far apart.

lpepperl 06-27-2014 11:13 AM