Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   signing and dating a quilt. (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/signing-dating-quilt-t1203.html)

ccbear66 06-03-2007 02:27 PM

As I've said before I'm fairly new to quilting and I've heard that you should "sign" and date each quilt that you make. I was wondering if some of you would share how you do that. I have made two baby quilts that I'm going to give as gifts and I would really like to add a label.
Thanks in advance for you help

Yvonne 06-03-2007 02:51 PM

Again, there are no rules!

I usually hand embroider my labels. I put the name of the quilt, date made, who is was made for and my name. Some people include the place where the quilt was made also.

I have put sayings on the labels of two quilts.
Another quilt's label was written out with a sharpie pen! As I said above, no rules. Whatever you are comfortable with. My sewing machine will be writing my next label, I think!

Ruth Cozadd 06-03-2007 02:52 PM

Many quilters make a lable to sew on the back of their quilts when finished. It was a tradition in some families for it to be embroidered in the makers own hand writing. Today anything goes I've seen them printed out on computer printer fabric and incorporated in the piecing on the front of the quilt. One absolute,you need to keep in mind that the lable endure the quilt's usage and washing. I have seen far too many that have fallen off, or the ink faded, or the stitching came undone. If using ink, be sure to use only textile permant marking pens never a ball point or felt tip pen.

Rebecca Chambley 06-04-2007 01:13 AM