Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Skipped stitches?? Help! (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/skipped-stitches-help-t161282.html)

lovelyl 10-18-2011 04:57 AM

I am trying to do simple, straight line echo quilting on a charity quilt. My FW, which I use for everything is skipping stitches when I try this. I sew anything else, it sews fine. Tried my 328, it did the same thing????? On both machines, I re-threaded, put in new needle, no change. I have never used polyester batting before - could this be the cause? I only bought the batting because it was on sale. Any ideas or suggestions?
PS I am using a walking foot!

Sew happy 10-18-2011 05:03 AM

I had a similar problem and put in a new needle. It didn't help, so I removed the needle, put in another new one and made certain the needle was lined up correctly.It worked. I think sometimes even the new manufactured needles may have defects. Also, remove cover plate and use a brush to clean possible dust or thread. Puta drop of oil in the wheel that holds your bobbin.

Originally Posted by lovelyl
I am trying to do simple, straight line echo quilting on a charity quilt. My FW, which I use for everything is skipping stitches when I try this. I sew anything else, it sews fine. Tried my 328, it did the same thing????? On both machines, I re-threaded, put in new needle, no change. I have never used polyester batting before - could this be the cause? I only bought the batting because it was on sale. Any ideas or suggestions?

lovelyl 10-18-2011 05:08 AM

Originally Posted by Sew happy