Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   solution to 1/4" seam (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/solution-1-4%22-seam-t113690.html)

sallywag 04-05-2011 07:50 AM

I just wondered if anyone just changes the 1/4" seam to 1/2" seam for their quilts. I'm pretty new at quilting and feel I have better control with a little more seam allowance to "play with"?

amma 04-05-2011 07:54 AM

For the most part that will work, the only time it would get tricky is when you are sewing very narrow pieces/multiple intersections, then the seam allowance could get in the way :D:D:D

Dina 04-05-2011 07:58 AM

I thought the same thing a year ago when I started. I have sewn all of my life with a 5/8 inch seam. This 1/4 idea just seemed scary to me.

However, I have found that 1/4 is plenty. I did have to buy a 1/4 inch foot to put on my sewing machine to guide me, as I just can't do 1/4 on my own.

Just food for thought. Using 1/2 inch will work too, unless you go for really tiny pieces or have multiple seams intersecting...

Candace 04-05-2011 08:00 AM

Increasing the seam allowance does add bulk to the quilt. Which would be a problem for many patterns. Though for some simple blocks it would be fine.

Prism99 04-05-2011 08:05 AM

This can work if the block doesn't contain triangles. It does add a surprising amount to fabric requirements, and makes the quilt heavier. Can be a problem is you decide you want to quilt the traditional 1/4" outside each seamline.

It's better to just practice until you are consistent with 1/4". Are you trying to sew without a seam guide? I use a strip of moleskin carefully positioned as a "stop" for my seams. Trying to use a tape mark or 1/4" foot (often inaccurate) does not work nearly as well for me as the physical guide.

bearisgray 04-05-2011 08:08 AM

I generally prefer to use at least a 3/8 inch seam for denim and flannel.