Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   spray basting and pinning question (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/spray-basting-pinning-question-t52331.html)

Joeysnana 07-01-2010 03:52 PM

I am going to attempt to SID a wall hanging. I've never done machine quilting before. Besides spray basting, do I also have to pin the quilt before I sew? TIA

skothing 07-01-2010 03:56 PM

I have never found spray basting strong enough for holding a crib size sandwich let alone anything larger. I hope you have better luck than me. What size are you doing?

b.zang 07-01-2010 03:56 PM

I don't.
Once upon a time, all my quilt sandwiches were pinned, but now I've discovered spray basting and said good-bye to the pins.
My quilts are stitched on a home machine, so there's lots of rolling and stuffing going on, and they haven't come apart yet.

sandpat 07-01-2010 03:58 PM

I do a little of both...I spray, then I pin in spots where it is very important that I have no shifting. Then I do some strategic "stitch in the ditch" if I'm using that...then I remove all the pins and just rely on the spray. I haven't had any problems..but I use the 505..I think it holds better.

skothing 07-01-2010 04:01 PM

I must be using the wrong stuff , what brand of spray do you use?

katmom54 07-01-2010 04:15 PM

I did my first machine quilted project this week using the spray baste (hate to pin and baste)...it was ok - but I did have a few wrinkles that got caught in the sewing near the borders and outside corners. I think the edges just got handled more and didn't stay as secure. The middle was good tho.... Another reason maybe is that I was a little hesitant to over-spray the baster and just kind of closed my eyes and did a pass-by over the batting, LOL. I think next time I will spray better, but i will use a few pins on the edge - at least until I am more experienced...

Joeysnana 07-01-2010 04:43 PM