Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Starching a quilt top (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/starching-quilt-top-t294756.html)

MarionsQuilts 02-13-2018 10:05 AM

Starching a quilt top

I've been searching for a solution, but can't seem to find one.

I have a quilt top that is not as flat as I'd like it to be. I'm not taking it apart to fix it, it's too big, and the problem is in the middle. I've never used starch before, and am wondering - can I starch the quilt top and then quilt it?

What happens to the "puckering" in the middle? What are the effects of starching it? I know I have to wash the quilt when I am done, which is fine, as I always wash all of mine.

Just wondering if this could be a solution to my problem?

Thanks!

Homespun 02-13-2018 10:41 AM

I don't know about starching. Quilting will sometime take out some of the puckering. When it is washed it will be all wrinkly, like I like quilts.

gigi712 02-13-2018 11:14 AM

I always starch mine, makes them flatter. Since the pucker is in the middle, be sure and quilt out from the middle and that should straighten it out.

Tartan 02-13-2018 11:25 AM

I think it is Sharon Schamber that has a good YouTube video on using starch and a steam iron to shrink in a block.

Eva Knight 02-13-2018 11:39 AM

I always starch my blocks as I piece them and after I get them all put together. I quilt on my home machine and I think it helps them to quilt better. Also it does help the blocks to lay smooth.

MarionsQuilts 02-13-2018 12:41 PM

Originally Posted by Tartan (Post 8002724)
I think it is Sharon Schamber that has a good YouTube video on using starch and a steam iron to shrink in a block.

Thanks, I'll go watch it now!!!!

Prism99 02-13-2018 03:23 PM