Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Stippling (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/stippling-t118365.html)

mombeth07 04-23-2011 06:13 PM

OK!! Ladies and professional quilters, I am a newbie at this quilting and stippling. I participated in the pinwheel quilt in Feb. which I have already got borders on and ready to try stippling on it. I have a Brother Innv2800D so what foot the walking foot or darning foot and what do I do my stitch length and width. Any other suggestion would be helpful PLEASE feel welcome to let me know.

mimom 04-23-2011 06:17 PM

darning foot and put your feed dogs down, get yourself a pair of gardening gloves with the little gripper dots on them. With the feed dogs down you are controling the lenth of the stitch, start out slow and dont move your fabric too fast or you will wind up with long stitches. Good luck and enjoy it.

TonnieLoree 04-23-2011 06:19 PM

Originally Posted by mimom
darning foot and put your feed dogs down, get yourself a pair of gardening gloves with the little gripper dots on them. With the feed dogs down you are controling the lenth of the stitch, start out slow and dont move your fabric too fast or you will wind up with long stitches. Good luck and enjoy it.

What she said! I don't change my stitch length one bit.

Lori S 04-23-2011 06:19 PM

Use the darning foot, lower your feed dogs. I get the best results taking the stitch lenght and width both to Zero.
Do a pratice square with some backing , batting and a top layer to make the little adjustments in tension, to also check your needle . I get good results with a top stitch needle.

clynns 04-23-2011 06:31 PM