Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Storing fabric (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/storing-fabric-t101682.html)

emsgranny 02-21-2011 07:34 AM

I have noticed that whenever I look at everyone's posts of their rooms their fabrics are all exposed and not in containers. Many of you have large quantities of fabrics that cant possibly be used quickly. Of course I fall into that category too lol

My question is -

How do you prevent the fabric from getting dusty or picking up household odors?

I keep mine in clear plastic totes - is this wrong? Would like to know opinions please cheryl :D

champagnebubbles 02-21-2011 07:36 AM

I am new at this, but I bought big cupboards with doors for this reason. Also I can keep it all hidden and neat in there :)

the casual quilter 02-21-2011 07:50 AM

My fabric storage area is in a closet with bi-fold louvered doors. I put shelves in the closet and that's where I store my fabric. I've tried using tubs, but I found myself spending more time digging through tubs than sewing. I don't think storing fabric in tubs is a bad idea (my sister does it), it just doesn't work for me.

carslo 02-21-2011 08:00 AM

I am using a glass front china cabinet to store my fabrics, but they certainly aren't organized very well.
I still lose fabric in there :(

Janet

ckcowl 02-21-2011 08:01 AM

i store my fabrics on shelves, i do have a drop=down cover over the shelves but they are very seldom covered...i am always into them so tend to keep them open. i go through them all so often i don't think there is much chance of dust collecting :)