Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Stumped:embroidered blocks from MIL (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/stumped-embroidered-blocks-mil-t111830.html)

Kcmomto2 03-29-2011 05:26 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Although I am a relative novice to quilting, you know how you have a million ideas running through your head at the same time? (I'm sure it's not just me...) I'm taking my first quilt class starting next week, but accepted a dozen of these embroidered quilt blocks from my mother-in-law a few years ago. She's still with us, and I'd like to do something with them while she can see the results. So I need to get on it. The problem is that there are too many possibilities. I could just use sashing strips and a border, or I could use smaller pieced or solid blocks to set at the intersections along with sashing, or...I've never seen examples of these kinds of blocks used in a finished quilt except for floral bouquets just all sewn together right next to each other with no additional fabric used for contrast or enhancement. Any suggestions?? Resources for me to go look at?

embroidered wheat circles
[ATTACH=CONFIG]177161[/ATTACH]

Vicki W 03-29-2011 05:36 PM

The blue dotted lines were intended to be your quilting lines when you get that far. I might add a simple block to compliment the embrodiered blocks and then a border.

QuiltnNan 03-29-2011 05:53 PM

I would definitely separate with sashing. lovely embroidering.

moonwork42029 03-29-2011 06:07 PM

I could see some really cute and homey beige with teeny white dots or flowers as the sashing. Maybe the darker brown as corner points or the binding.

These look lovely and I hope she gets to see them finished also.

roseOfsharon 03-29-2011 06:23 PM