Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Teaching a new quilting (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/teaching-new-quilting-t51751.html)

TnT grandma 06-28-2010 07:30 AM

Two of my friends have asked me to teach them to quilt. They both can sew a little. Where should I begin? What are the first techniques they should learn. I am not an expert quilter, but I do enjoy it.

JanetM 06-28-2010 07:37 AM

Teach them:
How to use a rotary cutter
Sew a 1/4" seam
Proper pressing (not ironing)

Maybe practice with a 9-patch so they can see how the intersections are sewn.
Stress to them that quilting is fun!!!!

twistedstitcher 06-28-2010 07:39 AM

In the beginner class my LQS teaches, they make one block, add a border, then quilt and bind it so it ends up being a small wallhanging.

I think this way they would learn rotary cutting, piecing, pressing, quilting, and binding. You could start with an easy block, and progress from there.

Mamagus 06-28-2010 08:32 AM

I vote for making placemats. Use the same fabrics in each mat but work on a different skill in each one. Depending on how fast they learn you could make a set of 4 or 6 or 8!

littlehud 06-28-2010 08:47 AM

I think a place mat or the wall hanging are both great ideas. They end up with a finished project and that always feels good.

QBeth 06-28-2010 09:17 AM

2 Attachment(s)

Originally Posted by TnT grandma
Two of my friends have asked me to teach them to quilt. They both can sew a little. Where should I begin? What are the first techniques they should learn. I am not an expert quilter, but I do enjoy it.