Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Tension issues. What am I doing wrong? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/tension-issues-what-am-i-doing-wrong-t237059.html)

BeautifulBunting 12-20-2013 12:43 AM

Tension issues. What am I doing wrong?

1 Attachment(s)
This has been happening today only (that I've noticed).
I have changed the needle, re threaded top threaded, re threaded bobbin.
Any suggestions?
This is the back side of the material.

BeautifulBunting 12-20-2013 12:44 AM

Sorry I should say, the white is a bobbin thread, the green is a universal thread.
Also as you can guess by the question I'm pretty new to sewing

leatheflea 12-20-2013 12:49 AM

Well to me it looks like you've been making adjustments in each row of stitches. And you almost had the problem fixed in the third row from the left. Tightening your top tension might help if the the white thread is your top thread.

leatheflea 12-20-2013 01:17 AM

Sometimes if your pushing your fabric through this can happen. Okay the white is the bobbin, that means you need to loosen the top tension.

PaperPrincess 12-20-2013 05:27 AM

When you sew, you are looking to get the same amount of top thread on the top and bobbin thread on the bobbin. The zig zag stich has a lot of top thread so you are going to have a lot of bobbin thread showing. this is normal. What you want is a smooth stitch on the front and no bobbin thread showing on the front. You also want the stitches to lay flat and smooth. You don't want the tension so tight that it pulls the fabric together. Most embroidery units, which often use a zigzag type stitch tell you to aim for about 30% top thread to show on the back. I personally think that all your samples have the top tension too high. There's NOT ENOUGH bobbin thread showing and the fabric looks like it's slightly pulled. In the end, however, adjust your tension so the front looks good!