Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Think I need/want a new iron (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/think-i-need-want-new-iron-t211561.html)

mooshie 01-20-2013 09:43 PM

Think I need/want a new iron

My iron is just over 16 years old, and I guess I don't NEED a new one yet, this one still gets hot, but I do think it would be better to have a newer one for quilting.

But I've never bought an iron. I didn't buy the one I have. It was a Christmas gift (I did ask for one) from my parents the Christmas b-4 I graduated. I wanted one to take to college. This one has been through a lot. I'm pretty surprised it's still going actually!

Anyhow, what on Earth should I be looking for when looking for a new iron? I don't even know what's out there. Are there things I should avoid?
If you could get any iron which one would you choose and whY?

Thanks in advance for your input. :)

Chasing Hawk 01-20-2013 09:55 PM

My last iron I bought cost me 12 dollars. It's a Proctor Silex one. I don't use water in my irons, if I need some steam I spritz the fabric. Less chance for it to spit rusty colored water onto your white fabrics. It heats up well, I should know by the tiny burns on my wrists. I have owned a few of them they are good.
I have owned Black and Decker irons too, those are good ones also. Sunbeam is another.

I have heard horror stories here on this forum about Roweta irons. They seem to catch on fire at will. Now for a 100 dollar iron you should expect it to not do this.
Nothing you are going to buy nowadays will be as well built as your current one.

mighty 01-20-2013 09:57 PM

I have a Black and Decker cheepie, love it!

earthwalker 01-20-2013 10:33 PM