Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Thinking about longarm certification class in TX (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/thinking-about-longarm-certification-class-tx-t284015.html)

mkc 11-25-2016 12:15 PM

Thinking about longarm certification class in TX

I've been quilting for a few years and have been doing my own FMQ and walking foot quilting. I've considered a longarm, but just trying them at a show felt awkward. I noticed a couple places here in north Texas where you can take classes to get certified to rent time on a longarm, and I thought that might be a neat way to become more familiar, plus DH is asking for Christmas ideas...

I have both Connie Keller in Lewisville (APQS Texas) and Nanc Christopherson at LQ Academy in Ft. Worth (HandiQuilter) roughly 1/2 hour from my home near Denton. Would any fellow north Texans recommend one in particular for someone with no longarm (but a few years of FMQ experience) to learn the basics?

(as a note, we hope to be moving in the next year so I would put off any machine purchase until we're settled in our new state - I'm not looking for feedback on either as a machine dealer).

Thanks!

Michelle

Cari-in-Oly 11-25-2016 12:34 PM

I think if I were going to rent time on a long arm I'd want to take the classes for the brand of machine I was going to rent. While they're all similar, every machine has its differences. I ended up buying the brand of long arm I had played with the most.

Cari

Annaquilts 11-25-2016 01:46 PM

Originally Posted by Cari-in-Oly (Post 7706054)
I think if I were going to rent time on a long arm I'd want to take the classes for the brand of machine I was going to rent. While they're all similar, every machine has its differences. I ended up buying the brand of long arm I had played with the most.

Cari

Yes, this is what came to my mind also. Could you else take classes at both places?