Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Thread basting tip (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/thread-basting-tip-t212718.html)

antylu 02-01-2013 05:32 PM

Thread basting tip

Not a lot of you do the hand basting thing anymore but I am pretty new to quilting, my first quilt I pinned; this one I am thread basting; (will be hand quilting) My husband made a riser and sheet of plywood on my table so I don't have to bend so much; I did put sheet on the plywood then placed and tightened my back and sandwiched; my tip is this; I have a curved needle (that I used for sewing turkey shut) and it just works so much easier than a straight needle; since I have the sheet on the plywood, I just slip my cutting mat under the area that I am currently basting so as not to catch the sheet. Hope this may help someone who still uses thread basting.

Maggie_Sue 02-01-2013 05:35 PM

One of those tips, that makes you go...now why didn't i think of that!!! Thanks!

LynnVT 02-01-2013 05:38 PM

Excellent tip. Is the purple avatar quilt your first one? You really are off to a great start for a newbie! And nice that your husband is right there to help you get set up.

DebraK 02-01-2013 06:07 PM

I don't thread baste (by hand) anymore because of the longarm, but I always got my best results and found pleasure in doing so before.

Tartan 02-01-2013 06:08 PM

You can also put a marble under your backing fabric and move it around as you thread bast to give you enough slack for the needle. Nice of your husband to raise up your basing surface to save your back.

antylu 02-01-2013 06:55 PM

Originally Posted by LynnVT (Post 5831198)
Excellent tip. Is the purple avatar quilt your first one? You really are off to a great start for a newbie! And nice that your husband is right there to help you get set up.