Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Tin Lizzie owners, opinions please... (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/tin-lizzie-owners-opinions-please-t249221.html)

kiffie2413 06-28-2014 11:42 PM

Tin Lizzie owners, opinions please...

Hi all,
Found out about a sale on Tin Lizzie Empress 18" machine. New from Sewing Machines Plus, less than $3000.00. I've been debating a long arm for about 2 years. I have a Grace Gracie King frame, bought to use with my Brother 1500. But I've not tried it yet. I usually do my quilting on my Janome Horizon 7700, my Juki, or by hand.
If you have a TL, please give feedback. I've read some great things, and some terrible things.
Also that price makes me wonder if it is a good machine, as long arms are usually more than that..especially with a stitch regulator included.
Thanks,
K

PaperPrincess 06-29-2014 04:11 AM

I have a Tin Lizzie 18LS, not sure about the Empress model. I am actually pretty happy with the machine itself. Nice stitch, easy to set the tension and it will sew with any thread. I have had a lot of issues with the stitch regulators, so I just learned to work without them. It sounds like you are going to use your existing frame? I would verify with the Grace company that it is compatible. The machine is very heavy. I have a grace imperial frame and although the frame itself is very sturdy, the machine rides on plastic rails which need to be replaced because they have deteriorated. I have read it's because the machine is so heavy. You can easily get replacement rails, but the whole frame has to be entirely disassembled to install them. There is a Tin Lizzie Yahoo group that you can also check with.

kiffie2413 06-29-2014 08:16 PM

Thanks for the info.
I'm actually going to hold off for now.. I just don't know if I will truly use a la machine that much. And I'm trying to not be such an impulse buyer..
Regards,
Kif