Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Using Embroidery Thread to Quilt (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/using-embroidery-thread-quilt-t271270.html)

Sheddah 10-20-2015 04:29 AM

Using Embroidery Thread to Quilt

I'm pretty new at quilting. Right now I am quilting my first pieced quilt and having a lot of fun. (I have sewn for 52 years though. I'm not that old--am I? :shock:)

I lucked up on a complete stash about a year-and-a-half ago for a pittance. I now have a HUGE collection of rayon embroidery thread. The colors are stunning. I have many different variegated and metallic spools as well. The other day I thought, "I wonder if rayon embroidery thread can be used on the top (not bobbin) to quilt?" So I pose this question to all of you experienced quilters. What do you think?

Tartan 10-20-2015 04:57 AM

​Raton thread usually isn't as strong as regular thread. It is beautiful and I have used it on wall hangings and table runners to quilt since they don't get as much wear as a bed quilt.

ManiacQuilter2 10-20-2015 05:04 AM

I agree with Tartan. I wouldn't use it on any bed quilt or baby quilt that would have to insure many washings.

grammysharon 10-20-2015 05:54 AM

Originally Posted by Tartan (Post 7350365)
​Raton thread usually isn't as strong as regular thread. It is beautiful and I have used it on wall hangings and table runners to quilt since they don't get as much wear as a bed quilt.

I also agree, it is beautiful but I know it breaks easily. I wouldn't use it for piecing or quilting.

dottie dodge 10-20-2015 07:53 AM

What are your thoughts on using polyester embroidery thread for quilting? Have a lot of embroidery thread and never thought about using it for quilting!

CanoePam 10-20-2015 08:12 AM