Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Using spray starch (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/using-spray-starch-t272349.html)

lyndaj 11-17-2015 06:10 AM

Using spray starch

I have been quilting since 2003, but have never used spray starch! Shocking, I know.:o

When I posted yesterday about ironing out the wrinkles in my One Block Wonder repeats, more than one of you suggested that I use spray starch.

Doesn't that gunk up your iron?

How do you use it?

What are some good brands?

Thanks in advance,

Lynda

ManiacQuilter2 11-17-2015 06:17 AM

I use it sparely. I oversize my block normally (when possible) so I use it when I am pressing my blocks before trimming. I don't think it gunk up my Rowenta tho I do clean it about twice a year. I have never had a problem with "Magic Sizing" that use to be in only available at the super Walmart. But I grabbed some cans when I was last in my local small Walmart. It is in a bright blue can.

scrappingfaye58 11-17-2015 06:50 AM

I actually mix up my own with liquid starch and water, and use a small spray bottle. I usually use a scrap cloth under what I am spraying. I do not have a problem with my iron

IQ2 11-17-2015 06:51 AM

I use Mary Ellen's Best Press (unscented) instead of starch. I've been told that starch invites "critters", which I'd rather avoid. It's available at JoAnn. I spread a sheet under my ironing board and over the counter behind it to avoid getting it on other surfaces, shake the spray bottle, hold it about 8" from the fabric, spray, wait a moment then steam iron. I like it. It doesn't make the fabric too stiff, but gives it a little extra body and helps get rid of all of the wrinkles. I've never had a problem with my iron getting gunky.

QuiltnNan 11-17-2015 07:53 AM

Originally Posted by scrappingfaye58 (Post 7379179)