Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Wanting to buy a simple quilting machine? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/wanting-buy-simple-quilting-machine-t283511.html)

oklahomamom2 11-03-2016 05:37 AM

Wanting to buy a simple quilting machine?

So this year for Christmas I decided to buy a simple quilting sewing machine. I would really like to get a Laura Ashley but lm still seeing what else is out there i might like better my goal is a juki one day. But because its not with in my budget I can't buy it right know. I would like to spend between 200 and 500 dollars, I'm not close to a sewing machine store so I'm not really able to try any machine out. I would like to know what u suggests. BTW I mainly do donation and family quilting.

Sleepy Hollow 11-03-2016 06:07 AM

I have a Laura Ashley machine since I'm just learning to sew. The one thing I will caution on it is the size of the "throat". If you plan to do anything larger than a baby quilt, it might be very difficult to get it to fit under the throat space since it's rather small.

I did a 4 x 6 quilt with a thick batting (because it will be used at concerts to sit on) on mine, and I was just barely able to get it in there, had to roll it up and smush it. I have the CX155LA model.

I don't have any suggestions though, I'm hoping to do a lot of quilting on an old Singer 301 I found at an estate sale.

toverly 11-03-2016 09:09 AM

You might want to check out the Juki's online at various retailers. Somewhere here, someone mentioned they are discontinuing the 2010's and renaming the machine. Making the same machine but with a different name. There may be some great deals out there. The 2010's retail for around $1,000.

NJ Quilter 11-03-2016 11:00 AM