Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Washing a quilt in hot water? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/washing-quilt-hot-water-t289642.html)

coffeegirl 07-14-2017 04:18 AM

Washing a quilt in hot water?

My twin granddaughters were born early and are spending time in NICU. they use quilts or blankets to cover the isolettes to shield them from light and sounds. Of course I am whipping up 2 quilts asap! They do ask that the quilts be washed in hot water before bringing them. I have never washed a quilt in hot water and am a bit nervous. I will put in color catchers but was wondering is anyone had any other tips before I actually do it. Thanks!

Bug Lady 07-14-2017 04:39 AM

Congratulations on the twins!!!

As an infectious disease nurse, I whole heartily agree that they should be washed and dried with hot water and heat to kill the yeast, molds, viruses, and of course the bacteria. Those premature immune system has not fully formed yet as many of the immuneties from mom are given at or near term delivery.

The quilts are made with 100% cotton and batting so not to worry. ALL of the quilts in the NICU's across the USA are washed in hot water. You might want to consider a softer color rather than the bright reds, blues, or greens.

Enjoy the little ones and be confident in the staff to do right by your precious twins. Thanks for asking.
Karen

QuiltnNan 07-14-2017 05:42 AM

I wash many of my quilts in hot water... no damage. congrats on the twins

Jennifer23 07-14-2017 05:43 AM

Congratulations on your new granddaughters!

When I was in a guild we made quilts for the NICU. We used all cotton fabric, thread and batting (even though we used poly bating for other donation quilts). All cotton was the rule for the NICU.