Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Waxing quilting table (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/waxing-quilting-table-t58986.html)

Nancylou 08-11-2010 04:06 PM

What kind of wax do you put on your sewing table for free motion quilting? I've never used wax on my table before, but feel like I need to. I am using Batik fabric. I've been practicing on a sandwich of muslium and it doesn't seem to glide very well. Any ideas would be much appreciated. Thanks. Nancy

ckcowl 08-11-2010 04:15 PM

don't put wax on your table, you will get wax on your fabrics...
are you talking about the flat part of your sewing machine? or a table the machine is sitting on? there is a product...i will have to go look, see if i can find it somewhere it is a quilting...glider...it is some sort of (plastic,teflon,)material that helps you glide your fabric, but i think you just need to practice more, i don't know anyone who uses something to make their table slippery, we are usually trying to figure out a way to keep things from moving around on the table. but i really am unsure of just what surface you want to wax?

Lori S 08-11-2010 04:40 PM

I would not wax , but most "spray wax" has no wax! But they do contain oils.
There is a product called Supreme Slider it is 100 percent teflon on the top with a self stick bottom. It makes a big difference when doing Free Motion.

Nancylou 08-11-2010 04:43 PM

It's the table . Maybe I just need to clean it and I could use some more practice. That's what I thought about wax also. Maybe the quilt will flow a little better, the Batik is a little more smooth. Thanks for the help. Nancy

ghostrider 08-11-2010 04:47 PM