Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   what am i doing wrong? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/what-am-i-doing-wrong-t128289.html)

wenot 06-05-2011 02:36 PM

I am pretty new at quilting and i wanted to do some fmq on a small top i made. I have practised some simple stippling on mugrugs without problems.
When i started it was fine, but very shortly after i started, my sewing machine (anker, dutch brand) started skipping stitches..
I checked everything, stitch length, thread tension, etc., nothing worked. So i took out my other sewing machine, a Janome 3030, wich had just come back from servicing, and that did the same? I have really no idea how to fix this, especially because it was fine in the beginning and on smaller mugrugs too...Anybody has any ideas? I have a fmq foot, but that does not seem to touch the fabric, does it have to? i cant lower it any further, it is fit for both my machines according to the store i bought it from..
Any help or tips are appreciated.

virtualbernie 06-05-2011 02:41 PM

Maybe your larger quilt is pulling? You could use more support to handle the weight of the quilt. Try putting a table beside you to hold the weight of the quilt.

quilticing 06-05-2011 02:45 PM

The free-motion foot should go up and down with the needle. Maybe the timing wasn't checked at the shop.

wenot 06-05-2011 02:48 PM

Originally Posted by quilticing
The free-motion foot should go up and down with the needle. Maybe the timing wasn't checked at the shop.

I am not sure if it does, maybe i don't have the foot on correctly? I thought theres just one way to put that foot on..
What is timing, sorry, my english is fine but not familiar with all sewing terms in english..

wenot 06-05-2011 02:48 PM

sorry..double post

wenot 06-05-2011 02:51 PM

Originally Posted by virtualbernie