Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   What is the science behind potato bags? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/what-science-behind-potato-bags-t26754.html)

stashblaster 10-09-2009 03:15 AM

Dumb question I know. I have done lots of internet searching on the potato bags. Yes, I've read all the warnings, opinions, etc. Most of the tutorials use quilting cotton for both inside and outside layers. However, I ran across one site that used flannel on the inside. Would the flannel be better/safer by absorbing more heat or steam?

So far, I've made two bags with flannel on the inside. I've only baked one potato at a time. I didn't really get the "fluffy" potato that everyone raves about. So I'm wondering if I'm a picky chef or does it have something to do with the flannel. I do plan on making a bag without the flannel.

The reason that I'm being obsessive is that I give sewing lessons to my fellow employees. Potato bags will be one of our projects so I really want to use the most appropriate fabrics. Thanks!

trupeach 10-09-2009 03:25 AM

From a health stand point I would only make them with unbleached muslin you never know what is used to dye the fabric and I wouldn't want that being steamed in my potato

BellaBoo 10-09-2009 05:14 AM

For fluffy potatoes, it depends on the type of potato you are baking. I buy Idaho baking potatoes, usually they are loose in a bin not in a bag.

Tippy 10-09-2009 08:18 AM

Hate sounding ignorant, but better ignorant than stupid... what the heck is a potato bag?

momto4 10-09-2009 09:00 AM

It is a small fabric bag that some people use to bake their potatoes in. Nothing fancy. Just a bag that closes and you pop your potatoe in it and zap it and they say it gives you a super fluffy yummy potato. I do have a potato bag just never tried it yet heh.

Lisa_wanna_b_quilter 10-09-2009 01:35 PM