Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   What type of Iron is best? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/what-type-iron-best-t181990.html)

Kimmers14 03-07-2012 01:23 PM

What type of Iron is best?

I am new to quilting and I don't have alot of money to buy alot of new things ( I would rather buy material) so I have been using the iron I already had at home, it is a pretty cheap lightweight iron. Does the type of iron matter? I would say my iron does an ok job, nothing fantastic. Would spending money on a better iron be benificial? I starting using spray sizing but am thinking about trying starch instead so does the iron really matter? Any thoughts would be appreicated!:)

QuiltingCrazie 03-07-2012 01:29 PM

I bought a German one here that I'm going to miss when I go back to the states. I had a Rowenta in the states and it leaked something awful after I had it for years I read reviews and most people had that problem so don't invest in rowenta. Sorry I couldn't be more help! Someone else will probably have a must buy option.

quiltstringz 03-07-2012 02:15 PM

One of the things that I have seen on known Quilter's websites and also in their lectures is that spending a lot of money on an iron is a waste. They say if you want steam buy a cheap iron and a spray bottle for water. Almost every iron leaks after a while expecially the ones on the market now. I have a Reliable and spent more than I should have, but that was before I saw the other views/comments. I think all you need is an iron that gets hot. Buy one try it and if you don't like it return it for a different one.

Stitchnripper 03-07-2012 02:24 PM

Try using the search feature. We have had many discussions and opinions on what everyone likes/dislikes.

AliKat 03-07-2012 04:20 PM