Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   What to use for quilt backing? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/what-use-quilt-backing-t110142.html)

pscott392 03-23-2011 03:20 PM

I am extremely new to the quilting world and would like to know what you use for your quilt backs. I had thought of using a bed sheet, but a quilting friend of mine said NEVER to use them because they are woven differently and will shrink differently from the pieced top. Any and all advice will be extremely appreciated.

StitchinJoy 03-23-2011 03:25 PM

I used a sheet once. I was very new and also very poor, so I used what I had-- an old twin sheet that didn't fit the bed we had. It was poly and cotton. It didn't shrink at all but my all cotton brand new fabric top did shrink a bit. The batting bearded through the sheet backing where it was quilted. And oh, I was quite disappointed.

Now I use only cotton, all 100% quilt shop quality cotton, and I prewash the fabric for the top and the backing. I don't like surprises.

cherylynne 03-23-2011 03:26 PM

I always use 100% cotton. Sometimes I buy the wide width so that I have no seams. I'm sure that there are other fabrics that others use successfully. I have used flannel, but it does make for a heavy quilt. Doesn't slip off, though.

Shelbie 03-23-2011 03:29 PM

We have just been discussing this topic recently. Read back a little of do a search. Bedsheets make wonderful backings -both cotton and flannel. Using yardage is great too but will cost considerbly more. It's your quilt, back it your way.

Painiacs 03-23-2011 04:16 PM

You can use almost any thing for backings! Depends on how much you want to spend , weight, top fabric ect. I have used sheets with no problems
S, flannel, old clothes, fleece, mink, there's a fabric called cuddle that I saw. Suppose to be soft. Have fun and be creative!

BKrenning 03-23-2011 05:20 PM