Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   What would you add to a memory quilt. Tips and tricks? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/what-would-you-add-memory-quilt-tips-tricks-t214598.html)

quiltingfan 02-23-2013 05:55 AM

What would you add to a memory quilt. Tips and tricks?

I have a daughter that is turning 20 this year. She has had a very rough teen years and I was thinking that I would love to make her a memory quilt of all her accomplishments and activities that she has had through that last 2o years. Here are my ideas ;

1. Baby picture
2. Living in Hawaii
3. She was on the swimming team
4. volleyball team
5. 2 High Schools
6. Photography
7. Journalism
8. Pics of her best friends
9. Pic of her and her boyfriend.. ( not to happy about this one but )
10. A Bible verse.

Of course I have never done anything like this before. So would love your input on how to accomplish this.

I think I will start with the pics and go from there. Her birthday is not till June so i should have time to make it. I want it to be a completely surprise. Maybe i do need an embroider machine.

alleyoop1 02-23-2013 05:57 AM

Sounds like it will be wonderful and she will truly love it.

quiltingfan 02-23-2013 06:03 AM

She loves my quilts.. I can't wait to see her reaction. Hope I can keep it a secret. hahaha

humbird 02-23-2013 06:11 AM

Sounds lovely. Maybe a photo of Mom and Dad also. Or a family photo?

quilts4charity 02-23-2013 06:11 AM

Sounds like you have a pretty good plan going, I think it will be wonderful. I love my embroidery machine for adding to my quilts!!!

Lisa_wanna_b_quilter 02-23-2013 06:14 AM

I'm not sure I'd include the boyfriend. At 20 (as is my daughter), he may be gone before the quilt is finished. I'd save him for the (bite my tongue) wedding quilt.

Does she read? Something with a favorite childhood book might be nice.
Maybe a silly phrase she said as a child.