Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   When it's time to QUILT it... (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/when-its-time-quilt-t201191.html)

Julie in NM 09-22-2012 06:32 AM

When it's time to QUILT it...

how much do you quilt? I look at all the gorgeous quits and notice almost every inch of the quilt has some sort of a design on it done on a LA. Don't get me wrong...quilting is always amazing. Guess I'm an experienced PIECER but beginner QUILTER.

So questioin is: How much do you quilt YOUR quilts if you don't send them out or have a LA? Do you SID and/or meander the heck out of it? I know I know..the phrase is "Quilt as Desired."

I don't hand quilt anymore. Only use my domestic machine.

Can't wait for the responses.

117becca 09-22-2012 06:37 AM

are you hand quilting or machine quilting? I hand quilt and I think about the blocks, the person it's for - male/female...I like densely quilted quilts. I never stitch in the ditch because a) it's hard to stay in the ditch and b) if i'm doing this work, I want people to "see" it. I do a lot of echo quilting - 1/8" to 1/4" from the seam.

Annaquilts 09-22-2012 06:39 AM

Generally a little more then is required for the batting. There is a number of inches on the bag the batting comes in. I have quilted more to put a design on but I always end up not liking how heavy or stiff the quilt is.

Toni C 09-22-2012 06:40 AM

I don't like quilts (for use) quilted within an inch of it's life. I like a soft drape. I make it balanced but tend to make it open designs. Sometimes I SID but if I meander it's open. Sometimes both. It depends what the quilt tells me it wants

Pat625 09-22-2012 06:41 AM