Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   When You Just Really Don't Like Your Quilt (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/when-you-just-really-dont-like-your-quilt-t249166.html)

zozee 06-27-2014 08:31 PM

When You Just Really Don't Like Your Quilt

i just finished a doll quilt for charity last night. I started out liking the design. I liked the colors (blue and yellow).

But the further I went in the project, the more I squirmed. I'm new to FMQ and so that was probably the worst of it. And really, I try not to be any harder on myself than I would be on a fellow quilter with as little experience as I have.

What do you do when you get to the end of a quilt you've made and just really don't like it? I won't say hate because the quilt has ears, you know! Let's she say she is my least favorite of all the ones I've made.

I'm too embarrassed to post a picture.

francie yuhas 06-27-2014 09:43 PM

So,you now have created a WOMBAT--- waste of money,tome,and batting.....except for the fact that if you set it aside a while,it'll look better in a few weeks. Or,give it to the first person who admires it! Try not to be hard on yourself.

MacThayer 06-27-2014 09:47 PM

If you just hate it, but it's still technically a good quilt, then give it to charity and be done with it. However, if you hate it because you just can't stand the bad work on the quilt (and I've more than a few of those), either find another use for it, or pitch it. I used a couple of my mistakes to cut up and stuff a dog bed. Another one was used to wrap a quilt for storage. My husband has one on the floor of the garage, and there's one in the trunk of the car to wrap around frozen groceries. If you can't find a use for it, think about using it for batting for a different quilt, or a pad, or something like that. Think outside the box. We all have mistakes we'd like to burn!

sewbizgirl 06-27-2014 09:56 PM