Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Who knew.... (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/who-knew-t268679.html)

Nanax4 08-12-2015 06:26 AM

Who knew....

that sewing straight lines was so hard! I'm new to quilting anything other than in the ditch. I had NO idea that quilting a straight line is nigh to impossible!

I was so excited to get my new sewing machine, a Babylock Crescendo. And even more excited to finally get a project to the "ready to be quilted" stage.

Being a newbie to this, I foolishly thought that I could follow the seams and quilt 1/4" from the seam lines. What a dumb idea!!! The lines were all wavy, but I didn't really realize that until I was all done.

I also didn't know to increase the tension slightly, nor did I realize that I needed to lengthen the stitch length slightly. Argghhhh!!

Ok. So now I know those things. I also got the courage to switch over to the Muvit foot, which helped tremendously. I didn't want to mark the quilt, so ended up finding some 1/4" quilter's tape that seems to be working well. I've also learned to pay very close attention to any drag possibilities. I didn't really notice that the first time around.

Off to sit on the deck and pick out the original quilting. There's something calming about it, actually. :)

QuiltMom2 08-12-2015 06:29 AM

Hang in there! Sometimes, there's no substitute for experience.

bjgallent 08-12-2015 06:35 AM

Did ou try using a walking foot with a bar? If you want them closer together, you could use the presser foot as a guide and move the needle to far left. Hope this makes sense.

Ginger's Mom 08-12-2015 06:45 AM

Hang in there Nana,I'm very new to this also and after many mistakes I finally made a small sample sandwich and practiced my straight lines and found the right tension, (yes, had to increase it to 8 from 4). Practice makes perfect.

Nanax4 08-12-2015 06:45 AM