Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Will The Futuristic Sewing Machines Still Be Friendly To It’s Users If They're Hijack (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/will-futuristic-sewing-machines-still-friendly-%92s-users-if-theyre-hijack-t309741.html)

Iona D. 02-13-2020 01:09 PM

Will The Futuristic Sewing Machines Still Be Friendly To It’s Users If They're Hijack

I love using sewing machines. I have been using sewing machines for 50 years now. When I started way back in the now obsolete Home Economics, having a built in zig zag stitch option and possibly additional stitch selection cams were the rage (and in the upper price range) of that day. In my class, we were limited to straight stitch only using console limited Singer Model 99 sewing machines from the 1930s. Clunky and finicky that they were, one major basic thing united them with the far pricier sewing machines of that day was-they were all 100% mechanical. Electronic and especially completely computerized models for home use were not available for another ten years or so. The Internet for an additional 20 years beyond that as well for home use with just extremely slow Internet speeds (dial up) available.

Now with the advent of the “smart home” revolution, the fully computerized sewing machine is right at home with the rest of the space age shiny appealing even more labor saving appliances. All are linked together in the all encompassing World Wide Web. All are created to make the user’s life easier. Or does it?