Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Woo Hoo ! Hobby Lobby ! (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/woo-hoo-hobby-lobby-t141844.html)

Honeynga 08-01-2011 08:53 AM

Went to local HL this a.m. to "look" and just see what they have. I haven't bought much from there because the prices always seen high; although with their sale I was able to buy several pieces. Am interested in finding a veggie/fruit/food fabric to make one of my girl's a quilt for Christmas.She works part time at Trader Joe's and I happen to have some old worn out work shirts of hers that I was thinking about incorporating into the back. HL had several choices for me in great colors; bought some from each bolt plus a coordinating solid color, OF COURSE, everything I bought was on sale. As the very nice lady was cutting my fabric she mentioned something about quilts and I said that I'm brand new at this and will be making ANOTHER top...since I haven't had any of my others quilted. She casually mentioned that she has a long arm quilter at home.......OH MY GOSH, THOUGHT I HAD MET AN ANGEL IN MY MIDST ! I asked her how to get in touch with her and she said she would give me a card. I told her that I would contact her about quilting one of my tops.....only if she didn't critique what I had done because I'm so new at this....she said she would just quilt it !

My LQS will do the quilting but I've been in there before when they were quilting a top and they verbally tore it to shreds re the choice of colors, workmanship, etc.....and I don't want to be their subject matter!