Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   zipper without a zipper foot... yay or nay (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/zipper-without-zipper-foot-yay-nay-t241600.html)

libby2595 02-20-2014 11:16 AM

zipper without a zipper foot... yay or nay

yes, ladies and gents... i'm a newbie! ;)

i also have a vintage machine (8 of them, but who on earth is counting :D)
i would love to make a little purse/pouch while i contemplate my next quilted item. the pattern i'd like to make has a zipper. i do not have a zipper foot for my lovely older machine.

can i reasonably believe i can sew in a zipper without a zipper foot?
i googled my question, but didn't get a straight answer.

just in case the info is needed: 99% of my sewing is done on a 1951 Singer 301A

thanks for any info

Peckish 02-20-2014 11:52 AM

I very rarely use a zipper foot when I sew on a zipper. On my machine, I can remove the foot completely and just use the little stub.

Why don't you make a practice run? Get a scrap of fabric, use a large stitch so it's easy to remove, and test it out. :)

NJ Quilter 02-20-2014 12:00 PM

The only issue I see, if you're not able to sew with no foot, is that your seam will be a tad further away from the teeth of the zipper than if you did use a zipper foot. Would the 'floppiness' of the teeth edge of the zipper effect the use of the zipper or the item you are planning to make? Those would be my only concerns.

libby2595 02-20-2014 12:12 PM

deal!
i just wanted to make sure i wasn't going to break anything.

i'm game to giving it a try, even if it's ugly.
and the little project doesn't need a "perfectly" placed zipper... i just want to keep myself busy and trying new things while the next quilt slowly comes together!

Prism99 02-20-2014 12:40 PM