Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
quilt lesson >

quilt lesson

quilt lesson

Old 02-27-2011, 02:28 PM

I am new at quilting and know how to use the stitch in a ditchh,quilted two bed quilts that way. My DH says I need to take quilt lessons and learn more. I'm a very quiet and shy person and don't know if it is a good idea or not. Should I just tough it up and take lessons or not? what do you think?
Old 02-27-2011, 02:38 PM

I take alot of online classes. That way you can work at your own pace. No pressure.

Take the class. I teach quilting and there are always total newcomers (don't know how their own sewing machine works), those that sew clothes but want to learn quilting, and those like you who have already started but want to learn more. You have an advantage because you already know your machine, understand the 1/4 inch seam, and have confidence born of already "done that".

As for being shy, don't worry. Be early so you can introduce yourself to people as they walk in- for your benefit. You aren't teaching the class, someone else is so the attention will not be focused on you. You will have a great time!

Because you've already taken a class, you will feel less anxious about going to the store and talking to someone when you need help of any kind. You have your foot in the door, so to speak.

I say go for it. You have nothing to loose , worse case you have the same skills you started with. I can not really think of a good reason not to do it.
Old 02-27-2011, 02:41 PM

You definitely should. How else are you going to learn? And don't forget that the teacher is there to teach, so everyone else in the class is going to learn the same thing you are, which means they don't know how to do it either!
Old 02-27-2011, 02:41 PM
Power Poster

there are online classes at quiltuniversity.com but taking a class or two at a LQS would not hurt. and ask questions if need be, that is what you would be paying for and what the instructor is there for. good luck.