Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
satin quilt >

satin quilt

satin quilt

Old 04-17-2012, 09:28 AM

Default satin quilt

I have about 11 yards of beautiful Barbizon satin in a peach color. The fabric is beautiful but I don't know what to do with it. It is at least 40 years old. I have recently thought of making a king size quilt for my bed....not a bedspread, just a quilt. I am concerned about the satin slipping off my bed. I wondered if I should put some other fabric on the back of the quilt or should I use satin all the way around? I planned to have it machine quilted with cotton batting so when I wash it the cotton batting will shrink. What are your thoughts on this dilemma? I really enjoy reading all of your ideas on quilting as I am a beginner! Love to all.
Old 04-17-2012, 09:36 AM
Power Poster

What kind of care does the satin need?

Is it washable? Some are - and turn out beautifully. Some aren't - and end up a crinkled disaster.

Does it need to be drycleaned?

The only suggestion I have is to have the components be compatible as far as care is concerned.

If you use satin on both sides, it would be slippery. Also, cool to the touch.
Old 04-17-2012, 09:37 AM

It will slip off your bed. I would use a good quality of flannel for the backing if it was me doing it. Sounds like it will be a beautiful quilt. Hope you post a picture of it when it is finished. You could wash & dry the batting to make it shrink before putting it in the quilt. You do not have to use detergent when washing the batting. Just running it through a rinse would work & then dry it for the shrinkage.
Old 04-17-2012, 09:39 AM
Power Poster