Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
seams and hand quilting >

seams and hand quilting

seams and hand quilting

Old 03-17-2015, 01:35 PM

Default seams and hand quilting

Hi
I am currently hand quilting a bear paw quilt and it is a slow go. My biggest problem is seam allowances. It is my fault because of the way I chose to quilt it, but I thought I would ask if anyone has advise to help me through those tough areas. I wish I could post a picture, but here is a verbal description of my quilt pattern...from the center of the bear paw block I am quiltung diagonal lines radiating out. It makes an X in the very center of the block. Hope that helps to visualize the block and quilting. Anyway, what I find is at each seam allowance I have to poke and stab or else I end up w/a big stitch because I can't seem to make a small one through all the bulk. This is making my quilting a slower process, which is really bad because I am basically a novice hand quilter anyway. So, any ideas? I have read "That Perfect Stitch" and while I understand how she says to deal w/seam allowances I can't put it into practice.

Thanks!
Old 03-17-2015, 01:46 PM
Power Poster

One stitch at a time through the thick areas is what has worked for me.
Old 03-17-2015, 01:53 PM

I agree with bearisgray, one stitch at a time in those areas, and stab stitching really is one method for hand quilting.
Old 03-17-2015, 02:45 PM

I can't remember what she said to do in 'That Perfect Stitch'. Nothing works satisfactorily for me. When I stab, it looks horrible on the back. When I backstitch, it also has an uneven look; it looks better than the stabbing, but I'm not happy with it, either. Those of you who stab stitch, how exactly do you do it? Do you turn the quilt over to make sure the entry of the needle is even with the previous stitch?

I try to plan a design that doesn't go through seams.
Old 03-17-2015, 02:58 PM