Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Speed % on Cruise/Long Arms >

Speed % on Cruise/Long Arms

Speed % on Cruise/Long Arms

Old 06-24-2019, 01:32 PM

Default Speed % on Cruise/Long Arms

Can you all please share with me your % on regulated cruise. Im at 12 SPI and have no clue what to keep my percentage at. Im new to the LA and so far am just stippling/meandering..nothing fancy and not working with rulers yet.

Thanks so much for any input..appreciate it!
Old 06-24-2019, 04:53 PM
Power Poster

My understanding of cruise is that it keeps the needle moving at a fairly slow rate even when the machine head is not moving. It's useful when you are doing sharp corners, but not so much for stippling/meandering. I think it is probably dependent on the type of work you're doing. If you're zooming around and trying to form angles with the stitching, a higher number would be better. If you're doing smooth curves, it's probably better not to use it.
Old 06-24-2019, 07:20 PM
Gay

Do you mean what stitch length to use with the regulator on, I can only answer whatever length looks good to you. Probably 10 or 12 spi, and as Dunster said, smaller if stippling or very small designs.
Old 06-25-2019, 06:26 AM

I have mine set around 6 percent, sometimes I'll slow it down even more if I'm doing micro work, but I rarely turn it off (precision mode). It's probably stitching at about 1-2 stitches a second in this mode, when I'm not moving the machine. I really like having that to make sure I get stitches in corners, and I don't get the jerky feeling of the machine starting and stopping when in precision mode.