Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 24 of 24

Thread: walking foot spoiled.

  1. #1
    Super Member sewNso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    S C michigan
    Posts
    2,000
    Blog Entries
    1
    my favorite sewing machine died today, and so i tried to put the binding on by using a 'spare' sewing machine. which does not have a built in walking foot. big mistake. i should have done a little, instead of getting it all done, and not being happy with it. i ripped the whole thing back off. aren't walking foots just the best thing ever?

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sturbridge, Ma
    Posts
    4,014
    i sewed binding on a quilt recently using the 1/4" foot. It worked fine. Just had to go slower and guide the quilt thru.

  3. #3
    Super Member MrsM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Hoosick Falls, NY
    Posts
    2,116
    I can never get a walking foot to work for me. I sew my binding to the front of my quilt then hand stitch it to the back. Any hints??

  4. #4
    Super Member sewNso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    S C michigan
    Posts
    2,000
    Blog Entries
    1
    my janome has a built in walking foot. that means, you just flip a preattached back foot down over and lock it into your regular foot. it guides the 3 layers of the sandwich thru real smooth.
    i have never had to (at least i don't remember) having to rip out a binding, because it was puckered. yes, in the past, i did have a walking foot that i had bought separately and then attached to whichever machine i was using. but my janome spoiled me. i kept having to smooth, and easy my border to lay smooth, that should have given me a clue that the back was gathering a little. you ladies that use your l/4 foot and make it work, must be more gifted than me. i just bluff my way thru it all.

  5. #5
    Super Member sewNso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    S C michigan
    Posts
    2,000
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by MrsM
    I can never get a walking foot to work for me. I sew my binding to the front of my quilt then hand stitch it to the back. Any hints??
    and that's what i do. it looks better like that, and if you ever 'took it to the fair', that is what they would like to see. i believe. i have never entered a quilt in a show or fair. i am not that patient of a quilter. but i do want them to look real nice.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Central Coast, CA
    Posts
    241
    What model Janome has the built in walking foot sewNso? I love my Janome, but would really like to have a built in walking foot...mine does not have one.

  7. #7
    Super Member maryb119's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    6,721
    My Pfaff has one built in and yes, it is a wonderful thing to have.

  8. #8
    Super Member featherweight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Westminster, Co
    Posts
    2,701
    Quote Originally Posted by maryb119
    My Pfaff has one built in and yes, it is a wonderful thing to have.
    Same here, love,love.love it!!!

  9. #9
    Moderator littlehud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    SW Iowa
    Posts
    32,958
    I use the IDT on my Pfaff for everything I sew. It just seems to work so much better.

  10. #10
    Super Member sewNso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    S C michigan
    Posts
    2,000
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by maryb119
    My Pfaff has one built in and yes, it is a wonderful thing to have.
    i was using my ''phaff grand quilter'. and i bought it used. it is just a straight sewing machine, no walking foot. boo hoo

    i'm upstairs. i think my janome is a 6600. and i knew i was pushing my luck. it just was sounding funny. i almost took it to the shop last week, and didn't. but it has made i bet 50 queen quilts. plus numeroues baby, and twin quilts.

  11. #11
    Super Member sewNso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    S C michigan
    Posts
    2,000
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by littlehud
    I use the IDT on my Pfaff for everything I sew. It just seems to work so much better.
    what's and IDT?

  12. #12
    Super Member sewNso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    S C michigan
    Posts
    2,000
    Blog Entries
    1
    and what kind of pfaff's do you ladies have . i just love that pfaff grand quilter. got a frame to go with it, but really don't like using it, cause i have to turn the queens part way thru. etc. so i just quilt them 'free motion', in the ditch, straight stitch with the walking, apposing loops, stippling or whatever. know what i mean? i know when i ended up doing the last row of 12 inch blocks on this quilt, with the pfaff, i was thinking---'this thing sounds so strong, good' i just luv it.

  13. #13
    Super Member quiltmaker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    In Hiding
    Posts
    1,227
    Quote Originally Posted by featherweight
    Quote Originally Posted by maryb119
    My Pfaff has one built in and yes, it is a wonderful thing to have.
    Same here, love,love.love it!!!

    Ditto for me also!

  14. #14
    Super Member QuiltswithConvicts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    2,811
    Blog Entries
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by sewNso
    Quote Originally Posted by maryb119
    My Pfaff has one built in and yes, it is a wonderful thing to have.
    i was using my ''phaff grand quilter'. and i bought it used. it is just a straight sewing machine, no walking foot. boo hoo

    i'm upstairs. i think my janome is a 6600. and i knew i was pushing my luck. it just was sounding funny. i almost took it to the shop last week, and didn't. but it has made i bet 50 queen quilts. plus numeroues baby, and twin quilts.
    Better get your baby to the repairman quickly! I hope it isn't anything too major. Maybe something that a good cleaning will cure.

    I love my 6600 & would expect the world to stop if anything every happened to it!

    Good luck.

  15. #15
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1,321
    I did not realize that sewing machines had that feature with the walking foot, mine is an 'add on', alpha, I think, it cost me around 100.00, but so much heavier than the one that came with the machine. Which incidentally fell apart. My machine is a baby lock, I really like it. Some features on other machines have caught my eye lately. Another one, is the Janome, it has the button you push on top and do not need to use the foot pedal when free motion quilting. Now I read this, oh well, will stick with my Baby Lock, for now.

  16. #16
    Super Member QuiltswithConvicts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    2,811
    Blog Entries
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by judylg
    I did not realize that sewing machines had that feature with the walking foot, mine is an 'add on', alpha, I think, it cost me around 100.00, but so much heavier than the one that came with the machine. Which incidentally fell apart. My machine is a baby lock, I really like it. Some features on other machines have caught my eye lately. Another one, is the Janome, it has the button you push on top and do not need to use the foot pedal when free motion quilting. Now I read this, oh well, will stick with my Baby Lock, for now.
    I have the Janome 6600P and it has the features you mentioned plus a boatload more - like auto thread cutter, knee lifter. I call the feature of auto sew "cruise control." It also works for just plain ole sewing too. It cost me $1999.

    The new Horizon is similar with other features, but I believe they removed a few, that are on the 6600P, on the Horizon, like 2 motors so you can wind a bobbin while continuing to sew. I haven't found that to be a great big deal. It doesn't really take all that long to wind a bobbin. I don't always have 2 spools/cones of the same thread, so I need to stop and re-thread to wind a bobbin anyway.

    Both machines are "mid-arm" in that they have a larger harp area (area between needle & head) and wider throat. The Horizon is a free arm, while the 6600P isn't. I haven't found that to be an issue. Right noe Janome is havng a deal where you get the Horizon & a cart on wheels to take the Horizon to workshops, etc. and a thread package.

    The "walking foot" is built in. It's called "dual-feed" feature. There are 2 little arms attached behind the presser foot. When you take off the regular foot and put on one of the special feet, you raise the foot all the way up and engage the 2 arms. They function just like the walking foot upper grabbers. Some have complained that work gets caught in the 2 arms, but I find that my quilt gets caught between the post that holds the feet and the presser foot lifter handle in back. Oh, yeah, they moved that lifter from the right side to the back on the 6600P & I think it's in back on the Horizon too.

    Good luck.

  17. #17
    Super Member sewNso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    S C michigan
    Posts
    2,000
    Blog Entries
    1
    yes, mine is a 6600 P also. hope it hasn't died forever. yes, they cost a boat load. but like i told my husband, well, i don't buy motorcycles.

  18. #18
    Super Member gale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    North-Central Indiana
    Posts
    4,637
    Blog Entries
    1
    Yikes! Every time I read about a 6600 dying it scares me. I got mine Mother's Day of this year and probably don't put as many miles on it as most of you but I'm glad I kept my old machine!

  19. #19
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    High Entropy Zone
    Posts
    1,250
    I have a Pfaff 7570. After I purchased my first Pfaff in 1991, I fell in love with their built in "walking foot" or IDT. Most of the feet I use regularly can be used with the IDT system. There is nothing I have seen that compares.

  20. #20
    Super Member featherweight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Westminster, Co
    Posts
    2,701
    Quote Originally Posted by lab fairy
    I have a Pfaff 7570. After I purchased my first Pfaff in 1991, I fell in love with their built in "walking foot" or IDT. Most of the feet I use regularly can be used with the IDT system. There is nothing I have seen that compares.
    That is what my Pfaff is. A friend of mine gave it to me last year. Isn't she a great friend?

  21. #21
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    High Entropy Zone
    Posts
    1,250
    Quote Originally Posted by featherweight
    Quote Originally Posted by lab fairy
    I have a Pfaff 7570. After I purchased my first Pfaff in 1991, I fell in love with their built in "walking foot" or IDT. Most of the feet I use regularly can be used with the IDT system. There is nothing I have seen that compares.
    That is what my Pfaff is. A friend of mine gave it to me last year. Isn't she a great friend?
    That is a really great friend. My husband saw me struggle with another brand sewing machine. When we moved to an area where Pfaff's were sold he went down and bought me a 1475. I wish I had kept it (I did keep my husband and of the two, I think that was the smarter choice).

    Who'd have thought there would be a day that I thought I'd need more than one sewing machine and serger would be nice?

  22. #22
    Super Member purplefiend's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Round Rock,Texas
    Posts
    6,134
    I have a Pfaff 1222E,it has the IDT and the machine is about 35 years old; weighs a ton & wonderful for binding quilts and quilting. I like not having to have a separate walking foot.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  23. #23
    Super Member featherweight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Westminster, Co
    Posts
    2,701
    They don't make the new ones like they did those...

  24. #24
    Super Member sewNso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    S C michigan
    Posts
    2,000
    Blog Entries
    1
    got my 6600 P in the shop this morning. and wouldn't you know it, when we plugged it in, it worked. so...... i left it for a good maintaince check up, and cleaning. isn't that strange, that the electronics didn't reset when i turned it off and on a couple times, but then it did at the shop. MAYBE I NEED AN BRAND NEW 7700????? THINK?????? but i had the hubby with me. maybe...... i'll leave him home when i go pick it up????????? :lol: :lol:

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.