Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
What kind of quilts do you like to make? >

What kind of quilts do you like to make?

What kind of quilts do you like to make?

Old 07-25-2011, 02:30 PM

As a designer I am at a loss right now. I go out of my way to design things that no one has ever seen before and I am always amazed when I open a brand new magazine and see square in a square quilts again and again! New fabric lines or different sizes don't make it a new design. Who needs a pattern for this? Unless you started quilting today its not that difficult.

Am I missing something? Is this what quilters want?

I'm curious what your thoughts are.

Thanks,
Sue
Old 07-25-2011, 02:35 PM

I am a fairly new quilter, and the simple patterns can be less daunting to a newbie. Having not grown up around quilting (or sewing) some of the very basic squares are foreign to me... (it is so funny when you realize how easy a pattern/square really is once you know how it goes together). That being said, I think the more difficult/original patterns have their place as well. I cant wait to be able to make some!! :) Keep up the great work of designing!!
Old 07-25-2011, 02:38 PM

To me, quilting is not about the design as it is in creating something that is new to me, pleasing to me, or something I see that I know someone would just love. Magazines often rehash the same blocks because in a different color pattern they look like something all together new.

I quilt because I am under tremendous stress at work, work in a horribly stressful place, and several of my family members have been diagnosed or have died in the last couple months of some sort of cancer.

So quilting for me is not about reinventing the wheel, but learning that the wheels that you designers make are pretty great methods of relaxing and escaping stress for a couple hours each night.
Old 07-25-2011, 02:40 PM