Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 71

Thread: Your opinion please

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    626

    Your opinion please

    I have heard that every quilt should have some black and white in the quilt (for contrast or interest.) Have you ever heard of this idea and what do you think about it?

  2. #2
    Senior Member Tashana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    798
    Never heard of it. I use whatever fabric I think would work the best.

  3. #3
    Super Member auntpiggylpn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Michigan. . .FINALLY!!!!
    Posts
    6,913
    Blog Entries
    1
    Well, I have made quilts with white fabric and quilts with black fabric. I have seen some beautiful quilts that the sashing was done in other colors and these quilts are really appealing to me. I have used mainly white or white on white fabrics for my sashings but I have a couple of quilts in the hopper that I will be using a silvery grey and an olive green for the sashing. I think it is more important to audition your colors and choose what appeals to you.
    No one has ever become poor by giving. - Anne Frank
    Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that. - Martin Luther King, Jr.

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/TheQuiltedPig

  4. #4
    Super Member Dolphyngyrl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    5,805
    I don't agree, there are many quilts with no black or white that are just beautiful

  5. #5
    Super Member crafty pat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Live Oak, Texas
    Posts
    5,782
    I have never heard that and none of my quilts do except the ones that I choose to use black or white in the pattern I chose. I don't see that in any other quilts in shows or quilting books.

  6. #6
    Super Member Lori S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    9,385
    What do I think of that... Well to be frank... its bull. Some of the most beautiful quilts I have ever seen have neither black or white in them.
    Make what appeals to you not some silly "rule" that someone pulled out of their...

  7. #7
    Super Member ptquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Vermont
    Posts
    6,072
    I don't pay attention when the rules committee starts saying "All quilts should have....." or "you should never..."

  8. #8
    Super Member Wanabee Quiltin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    St. Louis suburbs
    Posts
    5,520
    I just finished a quilt that was Eleanor Burns Love Knot and it had neither Black or White in it. Everyone loved it. I am working on a Log Cabin that is Courthouse Steps with all batiks and there is neither black or white in it either and it's beautiful. I think I will have to say I disagree with whoever said that you have to have black or white in a quilt.

  9. #9
    Super Member Peckish's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Pacific NW
    Posts
    6,354
    Blog Entries
    1
    Nuts to that, that's getting close to Quilt Police territory, in my opinion. It all depends on the quilt. I have made many quilts where adding black or white would have been completely inappropriate and jarring to the look of the quilt.

    One of the things I do consider when making a quilt, especially a scrap quilt, is value. I think a quilt "sparkles" more when it has a few light fabrics scattered around for contrast. If it's all medium value fabrics, it can end up looking dull and drab.

  10. #10
    Super Member Jeanette Frantz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,445
    Well,

    The day that "someone" tells me what colors I should include in my quilt will be the day I stop making quilts. And, that's not going to happen! This is America, land of the free!

    Jeanette Frantz

  11. #11
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    31,014
    If you were doing a scrap quilt you are bound to get black and white in it. As for a black and white rule for other quilts, Hogwash! JMHO

  12. #12
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    44,573
    Blog Entries
    45
    i prefer a quilt with some contrast, but there are some beautiful totally pastel quilts as well
    Nancy in western NY
    before you speak T.H.I.N.K.
    T is it True? H is it Helpful? I is it Inspiring? N is it Necessary? K is it Kind?


  13. #13
    Super Member DebraK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    West Coast
    Posts
    9,214
    I don't believe in someone else's shoulds.
    I have chosen to be happy because it is good for my health - Voltaire

  14. #14
    Power Poster lynnie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    24,112
    Blog Entries
    1
    Ive also heard every quilt should have some yellow.
    othrts say some orange.
    I dont follow rules.
    There are no rules in quilting

  15. #15
    Power Poster MadQuilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    ELVERTA, CA
    Posts
    15,495
    Blog Entries
    1
    I'd say that black and white can pop a pattern but to say it "should be there" is ludicrous.
    Martina
    Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Fabric!

  16. #16
    Junior Member An Arm Long's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Maryland's Eastern Shore
    Posts
    223
    I like to use contrasting fabric in alot of my quilts, but not always black or white. On the one I just finished, I used green. And sometimes I want the quilt to be calm - almost bland for a specific purpose and I don't use a fabric with a strong contrast. To each his own.
    Beth in Maryland

  17. #17
    Super Member Deborahlees's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Wine Country-Southern California
    Posts
    1,455
    I will admit that the quilts that I have done with either some black for white as accents, I have really loved, as it really seems to push the pattern. Was never really a solid color person, until I did my first star with all white centers, really loved how it seemed to calm down the other colors. I will say that I think the key would be a solid, more than just black or white.....IMHO
    Yes that is a real picture of my hometown Temecula, California. We feature premiere Wineries, World Class Golf Courses, Pechanga Indian Casino and Hot Air Balloons

  18. #18
    Super Member Scissor Queen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Southwest Kansas
    Posts
    4,829
    Quote Originally Posted by lynnie View Post
    Ive also heard every quilt should have some yellow.
    othrts say some orange.
    I dont follow rules.
    There are no rules in quilting
    I heard the yellow "rule" once too. At the time I wondered how you were supposed to put "a little yellow" in a red and white or blue and white quilt but I didn't say anything. I'm thinking there's a good chance those "rules" of some black, white and yellow were related to scrap quilts and not color scheme quilts.

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    316
    Never heard of this black & white B.S.

  20. #20
    Super Member Neesie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    5,873
    My only Quilt Color Rule is that the colors should be pleasing and not make one feel ill.
    Neesie


    By all means let's be open-minded, but not so open-minded that our brains drop out.
    ~Richard Dawkins

  21. #21
    Super Member wuv2quilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Morganton, North Carolina
    Posts
    2,927
    IMHO....If we all followed the "Could of, Should of, Would of" RULES .....Many of us would not be quilters. Do what appeals to You...what You like...what makes You happy.
    Happy quilting, Beckie
    Happiness is a form of travel...not a destination.

  22. #22
    Power Poster ckcowl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Northern Michigan
    Posts
    11,333
    Blog Entries
    1
    i've made a number of breath-taking quilts with no black or white in them- contrast and interest can be achieved with any color as long as you pay attention to values- black and white in their place do add contrast but are certainly not required in order to create a successful quilt
    hiding away in my stash where i'm warm, safe and happy

  23. #23
    Senior Member HouseDragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Kaua`i
    Posts
    584
    Who in the world told you that? I am curious who told you that "rule".

    It is, as several other quilters have said, complete B.S.


  24. #24
    Super Member Gladys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    3,621
    Quote Originally Posted by Dolphyngyrl View Post
    I don't agree, there are many quilts with no black or white that are just beautiful
    I agree with Dolphyngyrl. I've never heard of this.

  25. #25
    Super Member liking quilting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Southern Minnesota
    Posts
    3,326
    Blog Entries
    2
    Must have been said by a member of the quilt police. Don't worry about it as long as you have a color scheme that's pleasing to you!
    Mavis

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.