Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 42

Thread: My Accuquilt Review-GO

  1. #1
    Senior Member luvstoquilt301's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Phoenix AZ
    Posts
    860
    I have had this wonder cutting machine for about 2 weeks. It was a big stretch financially to get one but I am a very prolific quilter and felt it would be worth it.

    I have no trouble cutting strips so was not interested in those dies or the applique type. I ordered the 3 1/2 HST and the 4 7/8 triangle. These are the ones that will make a flying geese block 3 1/2 x 6 1/2.

    All I can say is WOW. It is just cut and sew. Not a single bit of trimming. I just cut up all my Christmas Scraps for the start of a quilt with just flying geese. Here is a picture of how they look when you cut them.

    I also cut up a bunch of them to surround this cute wall hanging from a panel I bought a couple of years ago. Cut and sew----no trimming.

    I feel that it is well worth the money if you make lots of quilts. I will be selective in what dies I buy to make sure I will make lots of quilts out of them.

    Next one I want is the Alex Anderson one that makes smaller geese. This would be used with the one that came with the machine.

    All dog ears pretrimmed for a perfect fit
    Name:  Attachment-140375.jpe
Views: 56
Size:  27.4 KB
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Mountains of Montana
    Posts
    615
    Nicely done. I'm still on the fence, waiting for the price to drop more. I am the same way I only think that I need the strip cutter. I was thinking of the Simplicity strip cutter but I heard too many bad things about it. So I guess untill I can find a killer deal I will do everything manually.

  3. #3
    Super Member grann of 6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Glenmoore, PA
    Posts
    7,468
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Nancy S.
    Nicely done. I'm still on the fence, waiting for the price to drop more. I am the same way I only think that I need the strip cutter. I was thinking of the Simplicity strip cutter but I heard too many bad things about it. So I guess untill I can find a killer deal I will do everything manually.
    It looks like it does a beautiful job, but I am not sure I would do enough to make the expenditure worthwhile. I don't do applique except on the embroidery machine so I wouldn't be interested in the dies either; and I like doing the quickie HST's. Maybe sometime in the future but not now.

  4. #4
    Super Member fidgety's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Iowa transplant to Va
    Posts
    1,766
    Blog Entries
    1
    Cool. I have not explored those to much. Did you cut out the snowmen or was that a panel?

  5. #5
    Power Poster CarrieAnne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Whitewater, WI
    Posts
    26,044
    Glad you like it. I LOVE my GO!

  6. #6
    Super Member tomilu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    1,702
    Blog Entries
    14
    I love mine as well. It really helps my hands as I have both carpel tunnel nerve damage and arthritis. Cutting a lot of strips for charity quilts really is a breeze now.

  7. #7
    Super Member raptureready's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    5,299
    One of these days..........


    I really want one, I just haven't been able to justify spending the money on it. Maybe when I get my income tax return..........

    You guys are making it really hard to NOT buy one. Let's see, I'm a pretty prolific quilter, I have carpal tunnel and arthritis, if I bought the Go there would always be dies that I could get as gifts from dh and dd, it's one of the few gadgets I don't have......hmmmm......looks like it's getting closer and closer.....

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    442
    Blog Entries
    1
    Check ebay occasionally. I got my go for $175.

  9. #9
    Senior Member qwkslver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    WV
    Posts
    584
    That looks very cool. I canceled my order (temporarily) because I decided to spent the money on my children/ grandchildren instead. I had the simplicity cutter and sent it back. I first thought it was nice but soon realized it cuts wavy. Can't wait to get my Go.

  10. #10
    Super Member luvTooQuilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    A Hop from Heaven, a Skip from Sanity and a Jump from the Good Life....
    Posts
    7,119
    Blog Entries
    1
    I love mine, I have almost all the dies- minus the strips, I think i can handle straight lines! lol.. My only disappointment is that the mat wears down to quickly for me.. I always have a new spare of each size, when I unwrap a new one I make sure to replace the back up one the very next day... Other than that, I LOVE MY GO!!!!!

  11. #11
    Super Member tomilu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    1,702
    Blog Entries
    14
    I have cut so many 2.5" strips that I had to replace that mat, lol. I just bought the tumbler die, can't wait to start on that one.

  12. #12
    Senior Member luvstoquilt301's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Phoenix AZ
    Posts
    860
    This was a Moda panel from a couple of years ago. I am on a Mission to use stash.

    I got my Go from Hancocks Fabrics on Veterans Day for $159 and free shipping.

  13. #13
    Senior Member Minister's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    310
    I would like to have one,but can't right now. Enjoy you guys.

  14. #14
    Junior Member Pinkrose4664's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    281
    Oh, I am so glad it was a good review! Whew, I just stumbbled upon my Christmas gift, (not very well hidden I might add) that my hubby got me. It is the Go!! I only mentioned it once how great it would be if it worked. I am now scoping out the dies. I wish wish wish they made an alphabet one! I can't wait to play with it.

  15. #15
    Junior Member chiaraquilts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    219
    Glad you are so happy with it- I love mine! Another carpal tunnel person here, and it makes life a lot easier...

  16. #16
    Super Member JAGSD's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    1,220
    hmmmmm............now I really want want!!Ok- so I did before the review but now even more so........

  17. #17
    Member Lakelady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    34
    Love your wall hanging and thanks for the post. As a newbe I knew the triangles had to be bigger but I didn't know how much. This gives me a idea on what would be useful to buy.

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    262
    Your quilt-wall hagning- is precious. Who makes the pattern? I love snowmena dn snowladies, and my maiden name is Frost. I have quite a collection of Snowmen and Ladies.

  19. #19
    Super Member weezie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Douglas County, GA
    Posts
    1,717
    I really appreciate your post. Because I don't make a lot of quilts + have a small fortune invested in acrylic templates & rulers, I don't think the Accuquilt is an investment I'll make. However, I was REALLY interested in an informed opinion on the value of owning one. Thank you! (There may have been other in-depth posts on this subject; if so, I've missed them.)

  20. #20
    Super Member grannypat7925's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Springfield, Ohio
    Posts
    5,449
    With my little bit of quilting I just can't justify the prices of the big equipment I would love to have. Glad you are able to make such good use of it!

  21. #21
    Junior Member ShySally's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Sevierville TN
    Posts
    174
    i have aaccuquilt cutter and just love it i had astroke and it help me to keep on making quilts.

  22. #22
    Super Member Carol W's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    1,387
    I would love to have one.

  23. #23
    Junior Member gingerella's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    248
    I'm a carpal tunnel and trigger finger person here; four operations on my hands this year alone. My hands are so darn sore that I have to get my dearest to cut slices of bread for me.

    My sister bought one - I got to thinking about it and decided I might be able to profit from one as well. I will pick it up today.

    Reviews to be posted here !!!

  24. #24
    Super Member JoanneS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    AZ and CT
    Posts
    4,884
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by luvTooQuilt
    I love mine, I have almost all the dies- minus the strips, I think i can handle straight lines! lol.. My only disappointment is that the mat wears down to quickly for me.. I always have a new spare of each size, when I unwrap a new one I make sure to replace the back up one the very next day... Other than that, I LOVE MY GO!!!!!
    They do wear down quickly, but you can make them last a bit longer by ROTATING them each time you cut.

  25. #25
    Senior Member vwquilting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Wells Me
    Posts
    863
    Blog Entries
    1
    That is so cute

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.