Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 26 to 33 of 33

Thread: Need opinions please...

  1. #26
    Senior Member BeckyB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Camas, Wa
    Posts
    463
    Blog Entries
    1
    I too vote for sashing and corner stones! It would also make it large enough for the bed
    It is easier to be wise for others than for ourselves.

  2. #27
    Super Member justflyingin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Jozefow, Poland
    Posts
    4,502
    Yes, I agree with the others who said that you did beautiful work. They look great, and I would add blue sashing and yellow cornerstones, probably. (depending on what fabrics I had, of course). It will be nice. Please post when you decide and finish the top!

  3. #28
    Super Member Vanuatu Jill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Ramona, California
    Posts
    3,057
    Blog Entries
    1
    I think sashing would set off the blocks, lay it out and see what it will look like. Your piecing is superb!

  4. #29
    Super Member Babs194068's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    5,316
    I like the idea of sashing. It will make it stand out.

  5. #30
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    42,810
    Blog Entries
    45
    i like it the way it is... but sashing would work well, also.
    Nancy in western NY
    before you speak THINK
    T is it True? H is it Helpful? I is it Inspiring? N is it Necessary? K is it Kind?


  6. #31
    Super Member DebbE's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1,615
    Wonderful blocks -- your piecing is very precise and I love your colors. I'd do the sashing in a print that picks up both colors (with a little white, too, if possible), with cornerstones. It would really showcase your blocks. Please post a picture when complete - I can't wait to see the finished quilt!

  7. #32
    Senior Member Scraplady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Birmingham, Sweet Home Alabama
    Posts
    442
    Such nice precise work! I had to smile when you said this was for your grandma. Here we are making quilts for our grandmothers. Didn't it used to be the other way round? I'm so glad the art of quiltmaking is alive and well again.

    And I agree, sashing and cornerstones would really set those stars off. You might even consider using your background fabric for sashing, with either the yellow or blue (or alternate both) for cornerstones. It would make the stars "float". Just a thought.
    www.makeminepatchwork.etsy.com
    www.zibbet.com/makeminepatchwork
    "Piecin' a quilt's like livin' a life...The Lord sends us the pieces, but we can cut 'em out and put 'em together pretty much to suit ourselves, and there's a heap more in the cuttin' and the sewin' than there is in the caliker...I've had a heap of comfort all my life making quilts, and now in my old age I wouldn't take a fortune for them." (Eliza Calvert Hall, Aunt Jane of Kentucky)

  8. #33
    Super Member cindy4857's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Phillips Wisconsin
    Posts
    2,482
    sash it sash it sash it lol. love your blocks, can't wait to see how you finish it off.,
    Cindy

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.