Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 56

Thread: Opinions needed, please! Need to finish this up

  1. #1
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    NE Missouri
    Posts
    6,157

    Opinions needed, please! Need to finish this up

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	100_2450 (Small).jpg 
Views:	3588 
Size:	75.3 KB 
ID:	375208
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	100_2451 (Small).jpg 
Views:	3572 
Size:	44.3 KB 
ID:	375209
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	100_2452 (Small).jpg 
Views:	3573 
Size:	43.4 KB 
ID:	375210
    I am finishing this wildlife quilt up for a Christmas present. I have been indecisive about this for a while and today am going to finish it up regardless, I hope. My quandary is: The bear paw patches on either side, do they need to be framed in a darker cloth like the one on the right and if so does the border need to be smaller or larger, or is that too bold and it needs to blend in like the one on the left so as to not distract from the center? I have opinions supporting both, but visually what do YOU think? It is all done except for possibly another black border on top and bottom. Yeah! I would appreciate your opinions. Thank you.

  2. #2
    Power Poster RedGarnet222's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Reno, Nv
    Posts
    14,516
    I like the one that is framed on the right of the picture best. The sizing seems great to me. Thanks for letting me put me little two cents worth in on your lovely quilt.
    RedGarnet222

    "Take your needle, my child, and work at your pattern ... It will come out a rose by and by. Life is like that ...one stitch at a time, taken patiently."
    *Oliver Wendell Holms

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    bloomington,mn/ SIERRAVILLE,CA
    Posts
    14
    i think it pops if you add the border. the small size is perfect.

  4. #4
    Senior Member susansomethings's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    537
    The boarder around the bear paw helps it to show up ...I personally would add the boarder

  5. #5
    Super Member crafty pat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Live Oak, Texas
    Posts
    5,730
    I like the one with the border the best. Beautiful quilt.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    82
    I agree with those above, I like the one with the border the best. Love your quilt!

  7. #7
    Senior Member broomstix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Wisc.
    Posts
    542
    beautiful quilt. the border looks the best.

  8. #8
    Super Member Kitsie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Ridgefield WA
    Posts
    6,413
    Blog Entries
    41
    I like it framed. Nice work!
    http://s1248.photobucket.com/albums/hh485/KitsieH/
    Never regret growing older, its a privilege denied to many.
    Be kinder than necessary, for everyone you meet is fighting some kind of battle.

    Kitsie

  9. #9
    Super Member piepatch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    2,929
    I like the one on the right, with the border around it just the way it is. By the way.........your quilt is beautiful!

  10. #10
    Senior Member BeckyL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Blue Ridge Mtns.
    Posts
    954
    I like the one on the right with the border. I don't think it competes with the center, but allows each element to shine. Great job.

  11. #11
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    The Colony, TX
    Posts
    3,364
    Gosh that is a really good looking quilt, my husband would love it. I love the way that you took the panel to the next level and made it amazing. I personally like the border around the Bear Paw and think that the size you have looks good

  12. #12
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    42,905
    Blog Entries
    45
    love your quilt!! my opinion is that a border around the bear paw would be better
    Nancy in western NY
    before you speak THINK
    T is it True? H is it Helpful? I is it Inspiring? N is it Necessary? K is it Kind?


  13. #13
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    NE Missouri
    Posts
    6,157
    Thanks ladies. The border was my original intention when "designing" it. Then I had second thoughts. Amazing that when you put it on a computer screen, it really makes some things more obvious than when you have your nose right next to it. I appreciate the nice comments and your taking the time to reply.

  14. #14
    Super Member Marilynsue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Mid Michigan
    Posts
    1,016
    Blog Entries
    3
    Definitely like the bordered one better!
    Every Sunrise brings a blessing

  15. #15
    Super Member Chris Anders's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Pleasant Hill, Louisiana
    Posts
    1,263
    Blog Entries
    2
    Border by all means. Makes it stand out And finishes the center focus. Beautiful quilt !
    Have a Blessed & Prosperous Day !
    Chris.


  16. #16
    Super Member kateyb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Grand Junction, Colorado
    Posts
    2,257
    I like the framed one also.

  17. #17
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    1,908
    I LOVE it! I also like the way the border sets it off, so I would use it. (As you may have guessed, I like to have things fenced in!!) Gorgeous, and please show it to us when you finish!
    If you feel like you're special...it's 'cause you are!
    Momto5

  18. #18
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Keller, TX
    Posts
    7,515
    Framed makes it pop! IMHO. What a nice present!
    Linda

  19. #19
    Power Poster joyce888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    10,668
    Blog Entries
    1
    Gorgeous quilt. I like the solid brown bear paw on the right.
    Joyce

    Four things you can't recover: The stone.....after the throw. The word......after its said. The occasion.....after its missed. The time......after its gone

  20. #20
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    3,805
    I am a very visual person and I think the border around the bears paw looks alittle bite better. Your quilt is gorgeous either way. What a wonderful gift.

    Kat

  21. #21
    Super Member sylvia77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Winston,GA
    Posts
    1,823
    I like the one on the right, beautiful quilt!

  22. #22
    Super Member grammysharon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Monmouth, Oregon
    Posts
    5,841
    Blog Entries
    1
    I agree, the border makes the block pop!!! Wonderful quilt!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Quote Originally Posted by RedGarnet222 View Post
    I like the one that is framed on the right of the picture best. The sizing seems great to me. Thanks for letting me put me little two cents worth in on your lovely quilt.
    A quilt is a blanket of love. Sharon

  23. #23
    Super Member justflyingin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Jozefow, Poland
    Posts
    4,502
    It's a beautiful quilt! I suppose if you put the border, it will be a little "louder" in emphasis, but the subtlety of the left is nice as well.

    So it this your design? I really, really like it!

  24. #24
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Jeffersonville, In
    Posts
    2,188
    your quilt is beautiful. I like the frame on the right.

  25. #25
    Super Member Bluelady's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Puyallup, WA
    Posts
    1,779
    I like it framed and I would make the frame border a littler wider. Similar in width to the black border

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.