Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Pictures (https://www.quiltingboard.com/pictures-f5/)
-   -   How would you quilt this? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/pictures-f5/how-would-you-quilt-t117306.html)

Elisabethann 04-19-2011 10:52 AM

1 Attachment(s)
I've done baby quilts before and either tied them or did SID. I would like to try FMQ on my machine. (I need to practice on some sandwiches first.) This quilt is for my 9 yr old DD - she really doesn't care about the quilting so it will be perfect to practice on.

What are your suggestions for how to quilt? I'm a beginner - I need to know where to start the suggested pattern too ! Start in the middle and work out the right then do the left?

charismah 04-19-2011 10:55 AM

WEll I LOVE this quilt! all that KAFFE fabric makes my heart sing!

This is hard for me to tell you how to quilt it...LOL. Seems strange. I don't know why type of designs you are comfortable trying. I would try an all over if i were a new quilter...such as stipple, flowers, leaves, and swirls.

tealfalcon 04-19-2011 10:55 AM

Love the bright colors....how about a all over swirl ?

Teapots and Quilts 04-19-2011 10:59 AM

What a beauty! I'm still working on getting up the courage to try FMQ. I'm so afraid that I'll just make a mess out of the tops that I've put so much time and energy into. I'm comfortable with SID or straight lines, but anything else is just so daunting!

4EVERquilt 04-19-2011 11:03 AM

Nice quilt, but I'm just an amatuer

Elisabethann 04-19-2011 11:13 AM

Someone suggested SID for the long lines across just to secure it, then try the FMQ, in sections. Any thoughts?

sueisallaboutquilts 04-19-2011 11:25 AM

Same here. I just posted a request for people telling me a good MQ book to get.
I need to learn!

dhanke 04-19-2011 11:25 AM