Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Pictures (https://www.quiltingboard.com/pictures-f5/)
-   -   Learning new things ...kinda proud here! (https://www.quiltingboard.com/pictures-f5/learning-new-things-kinda-proud-here-t132763.html)

CAJAMK 06-24-2011 05:41 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Now I admit I am not the "craftiest" person around. Being an accountant I guess I think in a different way...I can't look at fabric (or whatever) and come up with some brilliant artsy idea. But quilting is an obession! Well, I mostly just quilt with the Quilts for Kids program or do easy things.
All of a sudden yesterday I got an idea for a wall hanging for my sewing room. I felt I wanted to try machine applique & circles. So I got out my Accuquilt circle die (never used), cut bright colored circles from my scraps and then using a glue stick I applied them to a black 24" square piece of fabric. Then using a blanket stitch on my machine I went around the circles. Yes, they are kind of screwy but not bad for a first attempt. A few things learned...
1. Fuse don't glue stick for machine applique
2. When machine applique on circles lift the presser foot alot
3. Don't be too hard on yourself and just go with the flow. It's the fun of learning that counts, not perfection!!

Unless it is going into a quilt show a friend always says to me ...."it's good enough for government work"
Any thoughts?

Opal Jane 06-24-2011 05:42 AM

We want to see pictures!

Sadiemae 06-24-2011 05:43 AM

Congratulations on your new endeavor!

CAJAMK 06-24-2011 05:43 AM

Pics will be coming later. I am actually going to do some beading on this. Then I have to put on the border & quilt it...

lheartsl 06-24-2011 05:46 AM

where is the picture??\
I am going to try an appl. for the first time aslo... Going to pick out fabrics today!

kwhite 06-24-2011 05:49 AM