Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Pictures (https://www.quiltingboard.com/pictures-f5/)
-   -   My First Dear Jane Blocks Need Advice (https://www.quiltingboard.com/pictures-f5/my-first-dear-jane-blocks-need-advice-t113222.html)

familyfun 04-03-2011 02:11 PM

8 Attachment(s)
I posted part of this on the main page.
Sorry to any who have seen the double post.
But I wanted to post somemore block pics.

I have came back for somemore advice form the experts. I started my dear jane quilt yesturday and have 14 blocks done. I started with the easy one first and used pp.
I am not good at applique. I threw away my first two projects because they looked terrible. I decided to do machine applique on a dj block and I think it looks horrible so I watched somemore videos on line and thought I would raw fray edge a couple of them. I was wondering if you think it will cause a problem in the future. I have no idea how well it holds up. I dont see this quilt being washed everyweek. But over time how well does fray edge stay. I used a very small stich 1.2
For some reason my machine would not do the applique stich it was putting a zag in it. It is in pics belso. So I decided to straight stitch. What do you all think?

This is the block with the messed up stitch
[ATTACH=CONFIG]179182[/ATTACH]

this is the frayed edge applique
[ATTACH=CONFIG]179183[/ATTACH]

Jennifer 04-03-2011 02:15 PM

14 blocks done so far. You are on a roll!!

4girlsmimi 04-03-2011 02:58 PM

Looks great so far. Keep us posted on your progress. Thanks for sharing.

Mariposa 04-03-2011 02:59 PM

You're off to a great start!

milp04 04-03-2011 03:06 PM

Your blocks look great! Keep up the good work. Don't ever throw out your blocks, they were probably much better than you imagined. Even if you think a block isn't good, you will never notice that one block once it's all put together.

Pam M

Fabaddict 04-03-2011 03:36 PM